Avoid Dropbox

watering-nature-water

Photo via Visual hunt

This is going to be a quick post. Two days ago, I got an email from Dropbox saying I went over my free 2 GB limit and I had to pay to upgrade to their 1 TB storage system. When I went to check my files, since the last time I checked I hadn’t even hit 1 GB, I found someone had dropped over 6 GB of files on my account.

I did some research on troubleshooting how to resolve the issue. I looked for the files. I found them but couldn’t delete them. So I did more research and was told by Dropbox that only the person who added them to my account could delete them. I told them that someone hacked my account. They told me that I’d have to remove his access. So I looked at how to remove someone’s access to my account since I never gave anyone permission to access my account. I learned how to do it and tried to find where he’d accessed my account. There was no record of his access and I couldn’t remove him.

So I contacted Dropbox again. I told them what was going on and asked them to remove the files and let me redo the security on my account. They refused, stating that since I gave the person the access I had to remove his access and get rid of the files on my own. When I told them again that I’d been hacked they said they’d “review my complaint.”

24 hours later, I got their response. “We can’t find any evidence of your complaint. You will have to upgrade to the 1 TB storage to continue using your account.” That was a real big “fuck you” from Dropbox, who I’ve been using for the past four years. So I told them to go fuck themselves and deleted my account.

I forgot to download everything first because I was so pissed, so I lost years of work. However, I look at that as a chance to start those projects with a fresh eye and a clean slate. But seriously, don’t deal with Dropbox because their customer service sucks.

Author: anilaheartland

I'm a writer, a cook, a wife, and an unabashed word junkie.

Leave a Reply

