My recent adventures

close-up-of-doctor-with-stethoscope-and-ballpens

Photo via VisualHunt.com

So, yes I’ve been posting little random bits of stories and yes, I’ll get back to that. But I wanted to tell you what I’ve been dealing with lately. Namely…my heart.

Back in August I started having chest pains. At first I figured it was nothing. I didn’t have the signs of a heart attack that they tell you to watch for in women. I just had a lot of pain radiating from the left side of my chest into my arm and down my side. When the pain continued to the point where I was almost sobbing, I went to the ER. They did an EKG, told me I was okay, gave me some pain meds and a muscle relaxer, and sent me home.

This was the second week in August. We’re in the 4th week (or 3rd if you don’t count the first few days as a week) of September and I’m still having pain. It’s not as bad and it seems to have relocated to mostly my shoulder, but the concern for heart issues is there as there is a huge history of early onset heart issues in my family. So there’s the chance, given my age (not 40 yet but close) and my family history (don’t get me started on that), that there’s something wrong.

So on Monday I made the trip in to have a heart stress test. Because I’m having trouble with my left knee – another reason I’ve been having issues most of August and September – they didn’t put me on the treadmill. Monday I went in after fasting and was injected with something that sped up my heart. It also made it hard to breathe, made me sick to my stomach, made me feel like a heavy weight was sitting on my whole body, and made me feel hot (and not in a good way.) That feeling lasted 5 minutes, and then I was a little disoriented after for maybe a minute, but beyond that I was fine. They did another EKG while my heart was sped up and nothing came up on it. They’d also shot me up with a radioactive isotope to make my heart stand out better in pictures. They took some pictures of my heart and told me to come in the next day for the second half of the test. Total time in the doctor’s office? 4 hours.

Tuesday I went back in and they injected me with that isotope again. Twenty minutes after the injection I went in and she took pictures of my heart during my “resting” phase. After that, we were done. Sort of.

See now that the test is over, I still have to meet with my regular doctor to find out what all those tests mean. So the first week of October, I’m making two trips in that I’m not looking forward to. One is for an EEG (sleep deprivation…yay!) and the other is to talk to my doctor about the heart tests. Now, I’m pretty sure if something was wrong I’d be in there a whole hell of a lot sooner than the first week of October, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t something. Just not something life shatteringly dangerous for me. We’ll have to see.

So yeah. I’ve been dealing with that lately. We’ll see what else happens going forward.

Okay, and now we’re going back to our irregularly scheduled flash fiction and random weird story bits.

2 thoughts on “My recent adventures

Leave a Reply

