What I’ve discovered about sunshine and movement

30bb9f3ff9fb977805298a44ab7512a2

So, I’ve made it clear to many people I hate being out during the day. I don’t like sunshine. It’s too bright. It’s too hot. I’ll get burned which means I could get skin cancer since it runs in the family. (Seriously, my dad gets skin cancers removed every year, sometimes several times a year.) I’ve come up with every excuse I could think of to stay inside. But lately I’ve noticed that on my bad days time spent outside in the sun being active actually helps me feel somewhat better.

I’ve started walking every morning again. I slacked off, first because of my ankle and then because I was just too lazy. But I want to lose weight and exercise is the best way to do it. So I’ve started walking again. I have to start all over again retraining my body but it’s going to be worth it when I can keep up with my husband and go as far as he does.

I’m also starting to go outside later in the day. Yesterday I went out to play with the dogs and talk to the guys. I listened as they talked business and other stuff. I harassed Flora, who was more interested in playing with one of my roommates than me. It was probably because he could run with her where I can’t. Not yet at least. But I still felt better.

Today we had errands to run so Tims and I headed out this morning. We went to Goodwill to see if I could find a t-shirt for me so I could have another decent shirt for going to town and meeting people and a pair of sunglasses. Goodwill didn’t have my size, but I found a pair of obnoxious looking sunglasses that fit over my regular glasses. That helps with the brightness issue. And as obnoxious as they are – they’re neon yellow/green with a tacky looking leopard print – I won’t confuse them with anyone else’s.

Getting outside, getting moving, that’s helping me with my self-imposed depression. It isn’t as helpful when my bipolar is out of control, but I can still get some relief by being outside.

If you’re able, get outside into the sun. If you’re not – and there are people who are allergic to the sun – get outside when you can and take a walk. I know someone who goes out to walk at night because she’s allergic to the sun. Or just go outside and enjoy the day, or night if you feel safe doing so. Or both if you want to/feel safe doing so. I can’t say it will help everyone. It may not help you at all. If it doesn’t, that’s fine. But give it a try and see what happens.

One thought on “What I’ve discovered about sunshine and movement

  1. I’m one who has to be in the sun every day, not just for my mood, but for my pain. My MD insists on it, especially when we have sun in the area. I am quite dark right now, but at the moment my bone and muscle pain is negligible. I get myself checked every year for skin issues. As for mood, the sun helps that, too. I’m so much more sad and teary when there is no sun. If we get nice days in the winter, I’m out there soaking it up. And getting enough vitamin D (I can’t make it any other way except in the sun), helps me sleep at night. I encourage you to get some, fifteen or twenty minutes. Best times to avoid skin cancer are before 10 in the morning and after 3 in the afternoon.

    I’ve been missing Hawaii, with its mostly sunny days (yes we had a stretch of three weeks where it monsooned solidly, but that’s rare). I only needed 20 minutes a day to get my required dose of sun. And summer in Australia was great, too; endless sunshine and warm weather. The Coast is glorious this time of year (okay, I admit, I love the Oregon Coast even when it’s throwing 50′ waves at us), but I wish it was about 10-15 degrees warmer. My tropical blood is just too thin.

    Keep up the walking. I’m with you there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

