Fascinating…maybe

Beautiful Monarch

Isn’t that an interesting title? I couldn’t come up with anything better. Titles aren’t my forte. Even with my stories. Most of the time they end up with working titles like “Fang Faces” or “Archangels” until I come up with a better title for them. (In case you’re wondering, Fang Faces and Archangels are the working titles of two of my urban fantasy series that will probably end up getting merged into the same world, and no, Archangels doesn’t really have anything to do with angels anymore.)

So, quick health update. I’ve had five seizures since February, when I saw my primary care doctor last. I went back on Friday July 1st to see him. That was fun, considering he’s in Salem. I also wanted to talk to him about my chronic and perpetual headaches and stomach aches. He told me “I can throw things at the wall but I don’t know enough to do anything useful” about my seizures and referred me to a neurologist. For my headaches – which he believes are migraines – and my stomach aches, he did a few tests and ultimately prescribed me a couple new meds to try. We’ll see how that goes.

I got my neurologist appointment. They called last Tuesday, when I was on my way into Salem again to do my monthly grocery shopping trip. The appointment is set for September 6th. The neurologists are supposed to be some of the best in the area, so they’re extremely popular and extremely busy. So we’ll see what they can do for me.

I also FINALLY got my med management appointment. That’s on August 18th at 8:30 am. My therapist wants to sit in on the first one. I think, maybe, I’ll finally get this worked out. I’m so glad it’s finally in the works.

Okay, so that wasn’t quite that quick. XD

Writing wise, I’m plodding along with my Camp NaNoWriMo project. It’s a story about a Myr, my take on merfolk. My merfolk are different from the standard mermaids and mermen you see. I’m not going to share why right now. You’ll just have to wait and see. I may share the story on the blog. I may not. I may finish it (finish writing it, edit it, get it beta read, edit it again, get it beta read again, edit it again) and self publish it because I don’t think it’s going to be a full length novel. I could be wrong though. We’ll have to see.

I’ve been struggling with my moods over the past week. That’s why for the first several days of Camp my word count stayed stubbornly at 321 words. It wasn’t until around the 7th that it really took off, and now it’s sitting at just over 11k. But try as I might, I couldn’t get it to go anywhere. I also couldn’t focus on reading any of the library books I checked out, read any of my Kindle books, or listen to the podcast I love so much. Usually, if it’s a self-imposed depression, a back episode or two will perk me up. (If you’re curious, my favorite podcast is Kevin and Ursula Eat Cheap…it’s definitely an adult podcast.)

My usual methods haven’t been helping, so I’ve been looking for new methods to help me work things out. I’ve started walking more regularly, especially since the weight I saw at the doctor’s office really depressed me. No, I’m not going to say what it was. Let’s just say I’m heavier than I was in Boise and leave it at that. I’m going to keep walking – weather permitting – and see if that doesn’t help me lose some weight. I’m also going to cut back on my soda again and try to cut back on my portion size.

I think that’s enough of my rambling for today. I hope everyone has a wonderful week, and barring my usual “I don’t wanna” and “What the fuck do I write about”, I’ll be back on Wednesday. Bye! *waves*

Leave a Reply

