NaNoWriMo…in APRIL?

CNW_Participant

Hey everyone! Today is April 1st, which means it’s April Fool’s Day, my younger sister’s birthday, and the start of April’s session of NaNoWriMo.

What’s that? You thought NaNoWriMo is in November? Well, it is. But there are also two sessions in the spring and summer. These are called Camp NaNoWriMo, and they’re just as fun as the November session.

Camp NaNo site

With Camp, you don’t have to do 50k words in a month. You can choose your word count goal and set it for whatever you want. Mine is currently set for 25k, but that might change if I stay productive with my writing. You have the option of increasing or decreasing your goal at any time during the month to fit what’s going on with your manuscript. Most don’t decrease it, but they do increase it as their progress allows.

Another difference is instead of forums you have cabins. Cabins are where you’re partnered up with 11 other people (cabins hold 12 members) to help support each other, bounce ideas off one another, and in general hang out and chat with each other. You can be put into a cabin randomly, you can set up a private one with friends, or you can opt out of the cabin situation altogether. It’s all your choice.

You log into the Camp NaNo site with your regular NaNo log in information. I ended up resetting my password because for some reason, between November and now, I kind of forgot what it was. The new password works for both sites, so it’s all good.

Camp NaNo is a great way to breathe some life into your manuscript, if you’re struggling. Or it’s an awesome way to start a new idea you’ve been kicking around. I love chatting with people on how they’re writing is going, offering suggestions, and just hanging out with my virtual cabin mates. This year I’m in a private cabin with some friends from Wordcount Warriors, a writing group I’m in on Facebook. We’re all already supportive of each other. This gives us a way to chat without cluttering up the group’s feed, though we are encouraged to post there too.

I love writing challenges like NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo. The only one you’re competing against is yourself. You’re pushing yourself to accomplish something you might ordinarily have trouble with. I’ve used them to start projects, finish projects, just get words down in a project. Last November my goal was to finish a single novel in 30 days, not the usual 50k one but 100k+. I succeeded at that. It needs major rewrites and revisions, but that’s okay. I got a first draft done. That’s what I was aiming for.

This April’s goal is to get at least 25k into my current WIP Into the Sands. Originally I was hoping to have it finished by the end of March but that didn’t happen. Between days with no focus, not feeling well, farm life, and other factors I barely made it to halfway. I want to finish it in April, but life may not let me get that far. So I’m going for 25k to get me started.

Come join the fun with Camp NaNo. If you don’t want to, but know someone who might, direct them to the site. Have fun with it. And whatever your April goals are, may you achieve them with great success.

 

Author: anilaheartland

I'm a writer, a cook, a wife, and an unabashed word junkie.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo…in APRIL?”

Leave a Reply

