Monday Maundering – Blogging

I’ve been thinking about blogging a lot lately. Specifically the fact that I get very little traffic on my blog. Sometimes I wonder if I got more political or discussed religion more if I’d get more readers. The problem is I don’t want to talk about those subjects. My political and religious ideas are my own and I consider them private.

I’m also not a published author, so writing about writing is difficult because I’m still in the process of getting places with my work. I finally found a few beta readers for one of my projects, and I’m waiting for their suggestions/comments on my novel. It’s going to be interesting to see what they say and find out where my strengths/weaknesses are. I’d like to see if I can get Fury traditionally published. We’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

I only post three days a week because of the fact that I’m having a hard time with blog topics. I’m planning on doing the A to Z blog challenge again this year, but I also plan on writing my posts in February so I have them ready for April. That way I don’t have to scramble to get them done. This also means I need to figure out what I’m going to do for them. The last time I did it I had somewhat of a theme. I don’t know if I want to do that this year.

Blogging doesn’t come easily to me. I know it’s necessary for building an author platform, and in this day and age of digital recognition it’s important. But what do I say? What do I post about? Blogging has become a chore for me rather than something I enjoy.

I love my stories, and I’m trying to do a serial on Fridays showcasing some of my favorite stories. So far I have no views on most of those posts. I started my Beauty and the Beast retelling last Friday and haven’t had a single view on it. That’s rather discouraging. I want to share my writing with people. But how do I get them to read it when I put it on my blog?

Okay, I’m whining today. I need to step back and find something else to do until I calm down. Don’t ask me what Wednesday’s post will be. I’m still trying to figure that one out. Sorry for the ranting. I’ll be back to normal by Wednesday.

One thought on “Monday Maundering – Blogging

  1. I so empathize. I’m right there with the pain of “who’s actually reading?” and trying not to let blogging become a chore, but when I’m “out of spoons,” blogging is definitely something that goes by the wayside fast

    Like

Leave a Reply

