Monday Maundering – Recipes

So, it’s Monday. I decided I wanted to make today my recipe day. I’ve got a few recipes that I thought I’d share. The first two (slow cooker scalloped potatoes and the dinner rolls) I made during the holidays. The third recipe is one of my favorites for chocolate chip cookies. So here they are, three of my favorite recipes.

Fast and Easy Dinner Rolls
1 c warm water
1 ½ T active dry yeast (or 2 packages) + 1 tsp sugar
½ c melted butter
½ c granulated sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp table salt
4 c all-purpose flour (I ended up using 5 cups)

In a large bowl, combine warm water with yeast and 1 tsp sugar. Set aside for 5-10 minutes. (I used a 1 cup measuring cup for this and it worked just fine. If you’re not sure what water temp you need for yeast, it’s between 105 F & 110 F.) Using your mixer with the dough hook attached, combine butter, sugar, eggs, and salt. Add in the yeast mixture and mix to combine.

Add flour 1 cup at a time , mixing between each cup. When the dough starts to pull away from the sides of the bow, you’ve added enough flour. You should need about 4 cups total, give or take a little. (As I said, to get it to the proper dough consistency for bread type foods I ended up using 5 cups.)

Place the dough on a lightly floured clean working surface and knead for a minute or two. Divide the dough into 24 small pieces, then roll each into a smooth round ball. Prepare a 13 x 9 baking dish by lightly greasing it. Place the dough balls into the pan, leaving equal space between each rounded ball.

Cover the rolls and let them rise for about 60-90 minutes, or until doubled. (This took closer to 2 hours for me.)

Preheat oven to 375 F. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the rolls are golden brown. (Fresh from the oven, I smear the tops with butter to give them a little flavor and to keep them soft.)

Slow cooker scalloped potatoes with ham

4 ½ pounds potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
1 ½ c shredded cheddar cheese
¾ c chopped onion (I just went ahead and used a medium yellow onion. I didn’t measure it.)
1 ½ c chopped cooked ham
1 ½ (10.75 oz) cans condensed cream of mushroom soup (I just used 2 full cans.
¾ c water
¾ tsp garlic powder
¼ tsp salt (I left this out because of how salty it already is with the cheese and ham.)
¼ tsp black pepper

Place sliced potatoes in slow cooker. In a medium bowl, mix together shredded cheese, onion, and ham. Mix with potatoes in slow cooker. Using the same bowl, mix together condensed soup and water. Season to taste with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Pour evenly over the potato mixture.

Cover, and cook on High for 4 hours.

Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 ¼ c granulated sugar
1 ¼ c packed brown sugar
1 ½ c butter, softened
2 tsp vanilla
3 eggs
4 ¼ c all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 to 2 bags (12 oz each) semi sweet chocolate chips (2-4 cups)

Heat oven to 375 f. In large bowl with electric mixer, beat granulated sugar, brown sugar, and butter until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla and eggs until well blended. Beat in flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir in chocolate chips.

On ungreased cookie sheets, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute; remove from cookie sheets to cooling racks. This should make 72 cookies.

(With the cookies, I’ve used the baking bags of Butterfinger crumbles you can find in the baking aisle. I’ve also made these into bar cookies. To do that, just get out a 13 x 9 jelly roll pan and spread the dough out on it. I’ve also made them extra chocolate by substituting ¼ c unsweetened cocoa powder in place of the flour.)

I hope you get as much enjoyment out of these recipes as our household did.

Author: anilaheartland

I'm a writer, a cook, a wife, and an unabashed word junkie.

Leave a Reply

