Happy New Year!!!

It’s January 1st!!! It’s 2016!!! Time for a new year and a fresh start.

2015 has been an interesting year. I started submitting my short stories around to different publications. I’ve had all rejection letters, but it’s a start. I finished the first drafts of two novels, the second draft of another, and the third draft of another. I celebrated my birthday by moving to the Oregon coast. I started getting an idea what it’s like on a farm. 2015 was actually a better year than I’ve had in a while.

So, what do I want to do for 2016?

Find beta readers. I’m in a position in my writing process where I absolutely have to have other eyes on my stories. I haven’t had much luck finding beta readers in the past, but I’m going to put more of an effort into it.

Work more on the farm. I sort of fell back into my habit of sitting on my ass and not helping out as much as I probably should have. This year the guys have even bigger plans, so I need to put forth the effort and join in the work.

Start working on losing weight. I’ve already given up soda (for the most part), but I need to get up and get moving. I do the cooking so I need to make sure I keep cooking low sodium healthier foods.

Write more. This should go without any question. I’ve got lots of ideas that need to get written. So I’m going on with all my projects.

Read more. I haven’t been as good about reading my TBR list as I probably should be, considering a good writer must also be a reader. I’m going to try to read a book a month. I’m hoping for more. But I want to get through at least one.

Review the books I read. This is an obvious one.

These are my goals for this year. It’s going to be interesting to see how they pan out over 2016.

What are your goals this year? Anything exciting coming up?

Author: anilaheartland

I'm a writer, a cook, a wife, and an unabashed word junkie.

1 thought on “Happy New Year!!!”

  1. Great goals, and I love your website design! Especially if you replace that blob in the header with your photo. Read more, write more, help more. Yes to all of those! Many people would envy you life on the farm. I hope you’ll post lots of photos about that in the year ahead. Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

