Monday Meandering

So, it’s Monday again. Today is the last day to finish and validate for NaNoWriMo. I finished last night at a little over 100k, which was my goal. So that’s done. I had a couple bad days in there where I thought I wouldn’t get to it, but I did. I also thought I’d be scrambling to find enough stuff to fill the story to get it to 100k. Nope. I’ve still got story to tell and I haven’t padded much at all. I originally had them talking without contractions but got frustrated with how stupid they sounded and how hard it was to craft the sentences so I went back to using contractions.

Thanksgiving was last Thursday. The past few years have been kind of rough for us so we haven’t really done much for the holiday. This year was a lot better. There are six of us here and all of us pitched in to make dinner possible. And dinner was incredible.

We had two types of turkey (baked and smoked), stuffing, sweet potato casserole, scalloped potatoes, mashed potatoes, carrot and raisin salad, green bean casserole, and mashed potatoes. I dealt with the baked turkey using spices and veggies cut to fill the smoked turkey as well. I coated it in butter and sprinkled the spice mix on it and then stuffed it full of onions, carrots, and apples. It came out really good.

I also made the stuffing from scratch, the scalloped potatoes from scratch (in the slow cooker), and the green bean casserole. Tims (my husband) cooked the potatoes for the mashed and I mashed them. Tims also cut pretty much all the veggies I needed in my recipes, so that made cooking a lot easier.

We didn’t go the traditional pumpkin pie for dessert this year since one of our roommates doesn’t like it. Instead Tims made three cheesecakes – two pumpkin and one regular. One of the pumpkin cheesecakes was his test cake and we all ate it. Then he made two more and they were used for dessert on Thanksgiving.

We had a good dinner and have been eating off the leftovers ever since. I think today I’ll get some help breaking down the turkeys and get some into the freezer. I’ll try to incorporate some of the other leftovers into tonight’s dinner. No clue what I’m going to fix, but I’ll come up with something.

I made more rolls last night. As popular as they’ve been, I may try my hand at making loaves of bread. I’ve never been good at it, but it won’t hurt to try again. Who knows? What I’ve figured out with my rolls may help me make better bread.

Tims is trying his hand at recording gaming videos for YouTube. You can find him under the name TDGuyGaming. He doesn’t have much up now, but he’s working on getting more up. He’s working with a friend to do it.

I think that’s it for today. I may do my Recipe Monday next week and share my scalloped potato recipe and my roll recipe. Enjoy your week and I’ll see you back here on Wednesday.

Author: anilaheartland

I'm a writer, a cook, a wife, and an unabashed word junkie.

Leave a Reply

