It’s that time of year again

So, it’s Monday again. And not only is it Monday, it’s the day after NaNoWriMo officially gets underway. Yes, I’m doing it again this year. This will be the twelfth year I’ve done it. No, I haven’t won every year. But I find I like the challenge of getting words down on paper (or word processor as the case may be) with a goal in mind. I know I could do that any month of the year, but with NaNo it’s different.

I think the main reason NaNo is different for me is because there are others I can interact with that are doing the same thing I am. Now, I will say my goal is a little different because I’m not aiming for 50k. I’m aiming for 100k+. It’s a lot, but on my good days I can get anywhere between 3k-5k and I think if I can maintain that I’ll hit the 100k mark at the very least. I did it last year and almost made the 100k the year before. So I plan on trying for it again this year.

It’s the community that makes NaNo so much fun. You can post in forums to get answers to questions. You can engage other writers in conversations. On Facebook I’m part of a group called Wordcount Warriors where we call out word wars and support each other in our goals. Not everybody in the group does NaNo but they’re right there cheering the rest of us on.

I think that’s the biggest draw for me when it comes to NaNo ā€“ the community. The staff who run it are helpful and the virtual write ins are actually kind of fun, especially if you live in an area like me where the region you live in spans a great deal of distance and several cities. Local events are definitely hard to reach then. I can still send messages to people and hold conversations through the messaging system on the NaNo site.

If you’ve never heard of NaNoWriMo, let me give you the link. It’s only the 2nd. If you want to get involved you can still sign up.

http://www.nanowrimo.org

2 thoughts on “It’s that time of year again

  1. Wishing you the best for your goals. My goal is to get over 50K, but not sure after that. I have people coming for Thanksgiving, so have to plan to have an extra couple thousand spare words written for that day, and the day after (yes, that’s 4000 words). I can usually get 2500 to 3000 words in before I’m too tired. I’m working best at night for some reason. Well, I always was a night owl.

    See you on Warriors and NaNo

    Like

Leave a Reply

